The Kilusang Magbubukid ng Pilipinas or Peasant Movement of the Philippines (KMP) was founded at a time of great political upheaval and broad mass movement against the tyranny and abuses of the Marcos dictatorship. Hundreds of peasant leaders and land reform advocates from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao gathered during the historic founding of KMP on July 24, 1985. After thirty five years, KMP remains as the largest national democratic mass organization of peasants in the Philippines.

Until today, majority of Filipino peasants remain landless as they face the fundamental problem of feudalism in the Philippines. Big landlords and foreign agri-business control vast tracts of lands in the country, further subjecting peasants to exploitative conditions such as land rent, slavery, usury, and high costs of production, among others. The Philippine government’s previous and current bogus land reform programs are all anti-peasant and serve only the interests of landlords and foreign monopoly corporations.

The KMP is at the forefront of the Filipino peasants’ struggle for genuine land reform as it upholds the national democratic interests of millions of rural poor in the country side, fights against oppressive local landlords, big bourgeoisie and the exploitative feudal and semi-feudal conditions that perpetuate the lingering social inequality and injustice suffered by the Filipino people.

KMP is the democratic mass organization of Filipino peasants primarily struggling for genuine land reform, social justice, and genuine social change. It is composed of landless peasants, farmworkers, peasant women, youth, and millions of rural poor in the countryside.

The KMP and its 15 regional and 63 provincial chapters with more than 2 million members throughout the country are unwaveringly leading peasants, farm workers, and the rural people in defending their life and lands.

Under the banner of KMP, farmers are leading local mass struggles against land grabbing by local and foreign landlords, agro-corporations and plantations, massive ejectment and displacement from farmlands as well as land related human rights violations and other abuses.

For the past three decades, the KMP is arousing, organizing, and mobilizing the peasant masses so they can unleash their strength as the county’s main force, collectively uplift their social and living conditions and participate in the struggle for national freedom and democracy.

Depending on varying strengths and capacities, KMP chapters and its local affiliates launch significant actions including collective farming, land cultivation activities, and other campaigns to recover and occupy agricultural lands being landgrabbed by landlords and big foreign corporations who are aided by state security forces.

The KMP tirelessly exposes the bogus land reform programs and schemes of the Philippine government that continue to deprive farmers of the right to land and fights against graft and corruption in the bureaucracy that squander billions of public funds intended for farmers and the local agriculture sector.

The KMP constantly reaches out and links arms with various sectors of society and people’s organizations in the Philippines and abroad to broaden the national struggle for genuine land reform. It has successfully convened the Philippine Land Reform Movement that affirmed the Filipino people’s united struggle for genuine land reform and social change.

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter

KMP Regional and Provincial Chapters

STOP – EX Ilocos Norte
STOP – EX Ilocos Sur
STOP – EX Abra
STOP – EX La Union

DANGGAYAN – CV Cagayan Valley
DAGAMI – Isabela

APIT – TAKO Cordillera
KMP – Benguet
KMP – Mt. Province
KMP – Ifugao
KMP – Kalinga

AMGL (KMP Central Luzon)
AMB – Bulacan
AMC – Pampanga
AMGL – NE Nueva Ecija
AMT – Tarlac
AMGL – Bataan
PAMANA – Aurora
TIMMAWA – Pangasinan

(KMP Southern Tagalog)
KASAMA – Rizal
PUMALAG – Laguna
SAMBAT – Batangas
PIGLAS – Quezon
KASAMA – MO Oriental Mindoro
SAMAKAMI – Occidental Mindoro 

KMP – Bikol
CNPO – Camarines Norte
DAMPA – Camarines Sur
KMP – Albay
SAMASOR – Sorsogon
KMP – Masbate
ABACA – Catanduanes

SAGUPA – SB (KMP Eastern Visayas)
NSSFA – Northern Samar
KAPASS – Eastern Samar
KAPAWA – Samar
KAGPAL – Leyte
KMP – Southern Leyte

KMP – Aklan
FIFA – Iloilo
KAMACA – Capiz

KMP Central Visayas
KMP – Cebu
UMABOL – Bohol
KAUGMAON – Negros Oriental

NAMASUN – Surigao del Norte
KAMASS – Surigao del Sur
UMAN – Agusan del Norte
NAMASUR – Agusan del Sur

KMP North Central Mindanao
MOFA – Misamis Oriental
KASAMA – Bukidnon
KMP – Lanao del Norte

KMP – Southern Mindanao Region
KMP – Davao del Norte / Compostela Valley
ALMASID – Davao Oriental
FADC – Davao City
KMP – North Cotabato

KMP – Western Mindanao Region
KMP – Zamboanga del Norte
AFUZ – Zamboanga del Sur
FARM – MO Misamis Occidental

SOCOFA – South Cotabato
KAMASKU – Sultan Kudarat
BINHI – Saranggani Province
NAMADDS – Davao del Sur